Colours.

23 04 2010

Reading 1 Corinthians 2:9 this morning:

“No eye has seen,
no ear has heard,
no mind has conceived
what God has prepared for those who love him”

This got me thinking about a conversation I had with Alecia a while back about colour.  Her theory is that, in this life, God has only shown us a few of the colours He can create. When we get to heaven, we will be awestruck by colours we have never seen.  I can’t imagine it: how could there be other colours?

Is this verse all about heaven? Is it meant to give me hope for my future, leaving me saying, “I can hardly wait”? The thing about the Kingdom of God is it is then and it is now.  His Kingdom is coming and it is here. It will advance and it is advancing.  I ought to wait for it, and I ought to be making it happen.

So, is it possible that God has inconceivable things prepared for me now? It hardly seems so, on some days. But maybe I am just not letting Him take me there. Maybe I am glued to all I expect.

I wonder if God can’t give me all He has prepared for me because I can’t handle it just yet; or maybe I have said “no” without thinking. What I envision inconceivable to be may look a lot safer than it actually is. Maybe I have a low threshold for the inconceivable.

Maybe I am not ready to see colours I haven’t seen before.

But I bet they’re pretty cool.

— Teresa Klassen

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

