I Wish I’d Done That

26 04 2010

Remember the widow in Mark 12:41-44 – the one who just happens to be at the same place at the same time as Jesus? I don’t know what was going on in her day that day, but for whatever reason she went to that offering plate and put in everything she had.  On the sidelines, Jesus says, “I tell you the truth, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything—all she had to live on.”

Wouldn’t it have been cool to be that poor widow? Not so much the poor or the widow part; the part where you catch Jesus’ eye and actually do something noteworthy, admirable; something worth a complement…from Jesus. To be caught doing something right! For her it was just one ordinary little moment in time, no expectations; the camera crew just happened to be there.

Did she know Jesus was talking about her? The Bible says Jesus called the disciples over and talked with them about it.  Chances are she put in those coins and went in to worship and had no idea that some day her story would be written down and read by millions and millions of people for thousands of years in the bestselling book of all time. She may never have known that what she did mattered that much.

It really is the little moments “in-between” that tell all, isn’t it? Do I give my best in the side-line moments or only when I am “on.” Really, isn’t love and faith proven when you are caught by surprise?

I am envisioning myself in the same scenario as that poor widow: walking up the steps to the temple, seeing the offering plate, reaching out my hand and “clink.” Hm. Only one coin. Sigh. I like the ending to her story better; wish I had done that.

— Teresa Klassen

Afterword: Sometimes my C.S. Lewis “Quotes of the Day” really freak me out. So uncanny how often they work with what I am thinking about. Here is today’s: “Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.” Integrity of faith; when no one is watching, is it the same?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

