Nurturing The Inner Slob

6 05 2010

Life has a rhythm that can lull you to sleep.

Back and forth,

Forth and back,

I go here, I go there

I go there, I go here

I do this, I do that

I do that, I do this

Regular, regular

Regular, regular…

It can, after a while, become rather mindless.

So mindless, in fact, I just read an article in Macleans that talked about how people would just rather go through the routines of their day wearing pajamas than having to get dressed at all. Now you can go casual-casual because some company has designed cozy pajama pants that look like pants/jeans on the outside, but are all cozy and fleecy on the inside: “Channeling the comfort of a Snuggie and the look of a jean, it’s pajamas you’ll wear to work.” (http://www2.macleans.ca/2010/04/26/now-try-calling-her-a-shlumpadinka/). Now you can nurture your inner-slob and no one will know it.

Thinking about my inner-slob this morning because Proverbs 2:1-5 is so INTENTIONAL and I can be so UNINTENTIONAL.  When I read Proverbs 2 I have to ask myself, “are you really leaning into this?”

1 My child,[a] listen to what I say,
and treasure my commands.
2 Tune your ears to wisdom,
and concentrate on understanding.
3 Cry out for insight,
and ask for understanding.
4 Search for them as you would for silver;

seek them like hidden treasures.
5
Then you will understand what it means to fear the Lord,
and you will gain knowledge of God.

Am I awake? These verses are so full of verbs – tune in, concentrate, cry out, ask, search, seek.  But I am kind of an adverb (slowly, sometimes, occasionally, here-and-there, periodically, intermittently). I can really “shlump” around with my eyes half-mast and my soul yawning.

I remember years ago reading a book about Keith Green (No Compromise) who, at one point, was frustrated with some of these same issues.  I thought the advice he was given was so interesting: get up in the morning; don’t make it a slow start; get up! Get up and make your bed and get dressed and have breakfast. The advice went on and paralleled some of our outer bad habits with its effect on our inner ones.

The idea isn’t to become “driven”…I think the idea is to be alive. That verse just crossed my mind, the one in 2 Timothy 2:15: “Do your best to present yourself to God…” I was just thinking of how I hate it when someone comes to the door and I just happen to be in my most “slobbish” attire that day. I would rather not appear before God as a slob but “as one approved, a workman who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.”

OK. Gettin’ up. Gettin’ dressed. Gettin’ going 🙂

— Teresa Klassen

Afterword: C.S. Lewis said, “”Be Ye Perfect” isn’t a command to do the impossible. Christ is going to make us creatures that can obey that command.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

