Wise by Osmosis?

7 05 2010
  • [The Lord] grants a treasure of common sense to the honest.
  • He is a shield to those who walk with integrity.
  • He guards the paths of the just and protects those who are faithful to him.
  • Then you will understand what is right, just, and fair, and you will find the right way to go.
  • For wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will fill you with joy.
  • Wise choices will watch over you. Understanding will keep you safe.
    (Proverbs 2:7-11)

This is how Proverbs 2 looked to me today; bold words grabbing me by my shirt collar and shaking me. Pay attention! The problem is I have had too much going on in my head and I am feeling super tired today. I just know the red words are really important to activate if I want to see the blue words alive in my life.

Sometimes when you read the Bible, you just have to narrow it down to what you can actually grasp. What I can grasp today is that there are two sets of words and it looks a lot like cause and effect to me.

I want a treasure of common sense – so desperately! Wouldn’t that be a cool thing to have said about you, “She had a treasure-load of common sense. Where did she get that from?”

I want to be shielded, guarded, protected. I know this doesn’t mean I won’t face tough things, but at least I won’t be the cause of my own trouble. I could tell you stories.

I want to understand, more than I do now. Shouldn’t some things be more obvious by now?

I want to find the right way to go more often. Sigh.

I want wisdom to be making itself at home in my heart and I so, so want to be filled with the joy that comes with right thinking.

But today I am tired and I am going to fall asleep on my Bible, so maybe wisdom can get through my thick skull by osmosis.

— Teresa Klassen

Actions

Information

One response

16 07 2013
green smoke coupon

Hi there! I just want to give you a huge thumbs up for the great info you have got right here on this post.
I will be coming back to your site for more soon.

Leave a Reply

