Acknowledge!

11 05 2010

When we give instructions to our kids, quite often we have a one word tag we use: “…acknowledge.” They know what it means: “We just said something, but we aren’t convinced you heard us. Make eye contact and give us some sign that you are listening and understand.”

I just read this passage in Proverbs today (Proverbs 3:5-6)

5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;

6 in all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make your paths straight.

The more I am reflecting on this today, the more that one word is speaking to me. Dictionary time (I have a thing for the meaning of words):

Acknowledge:

1 : to recognize the rights or authority of
2 : to admit the truth or existence of
3 : to make known that something has been received or noticed (wordcentral.com)

Proverbs is calling me to acknowledge God in ALL MY WAYS.  So I am asking myself,

  • What does it look like to recognize the rights or authority of God on a day to day basis? I am thinking about how I may say that God has the authority and control over my life, but how I don’t live that way. If I look at what goes on in my head, clearly I think I have a lot to say about my life. I have a picture in my mind of removing my hands from the steering wheel (once again).
  • What does it look like to admit the truth or existence of God? Obviously I believe there is a God. I even believe that I am a sinner in need of rescue. But where it gets practical is, again, how I am living. If I believe God is Alive and what the Bible says about Him is true, then what is true ought to impact the way I live and move and breathe a lot more than it does. Back up a few lines in Proverbs to words like “Trust” and “not leaning on my own understanding” and it becomes pretty clear that I ought to be acknowledging God a lot more than I do.
  • To make known that something is received or noticed. God is trying to get through to me. He is speaking to me. He is pointing things out. He is trying to bless me and fill my life with Joy and Wonder. He is trying to comfort me. He is trying to guide me. He is trying to take burdens off my shoulders. He is trying to Be with me. He is trying to pour wisdom into my soul. Essentially, He is saying, “Hey, child, I just said something, but I am not convinced you heard Me. Make eye contact and give Me some sign that you are listening and understand.”

There is a beautiful little phrase in the Bible, “lifter of my head” (Psalm 3:3). This may not be the proper analysis of that phrase, but it kind of makes me think that this is what God does when He calls me to acknowledge Him. He lifts my head, just like I have done with my own children, so that they will focus on the expression on my face, on my eyes, on my voice. I say, “look at me,” when I really want to get through to them.

When God does this with us, we see in the One we are called to remember that we really can trust Him (or, as Mark said on Sunday, “Trust; period!”).  It is here that we receive our value again. Our life makes sense again. Our paths are made straight again. Acknowledge.

— Teresa Klassen

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

