So In Love

20 05 2010

What’s it like to be in love? I mean, truly in love where someone really loves you back (not like the maniacal fans of Justin Bieber)?

  • You get knots in your stomach waiting for the “object of your affection” to call…
  • Everything other than him/her becomes secondary
  • Your thought life now has a singular focus
  • You experience unusual amounts of Joy (and, at times, unusual amounts of unwarranted angst)
  • If the person you love, love’s you back, you feel important and included and connected. You feel special and unique and lucky. You feel confident and happy and hopeful.

So, Proverbs says that I ought to love wisdom and I couldn’t help but think that this sounds an awful lot like being in love with someone:

“Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you; love her, and she will watch over you. Wisdom is supreme; therefore get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. Esteem her, and she will exalt you; embrace her, and she will honor you. She will set a garland of grace on your head and present you with a crown of splendor.” (Proverbs 4:6-9)

Can I be in love with wisdom?

  • “Wisdom, I get knots in my stomach sooooooooo desiring to know You. Call me! I am longing for You to answer. Tell me more about yourself; I can’t get enough!”
  • “This is what I did today, but all the while I was thinking about You. Yes, I could have done this. Yes I could have done that. But, I kept wondering, do you know where Wisdom is? There are all kinds of enticements, but nothing is like walking with You, Wisdom.”
  • “My mind can unravel; so many voices whispering in my ear. So many wicked, worrisome, unnecessary thoughts planted in my mind by others. Wisdom. I have your picture on my night-stand and You bring me back. Who can compare with you? You are perfect.”
  • “When I am with You, my life overflows with goodness. I am in the right place when I am with You, Wisdom. A little distance between us and I am unsure and prone to worry. But when You and I are hand in hand, what is there to worry about? You are my helper and my friend and my confidant and companion.  If my foot slips and I stumble, You will steady me.”
  • “Wisdom, I love how You don’t play games with me. I love You and You love me right back (or, how did we meet? I think You loved me first). When I am with You, I understand importance and I feel connected to the pulse of what matters. You make me see who I am and I feel special and unique and lucky.  When I am with You, Wisdom, I feel confident in what I am doing and being and happy, so much happier! And I am hopeful because You are in my future too.”

I want to LOVE wisdom like this. I want to get butterflies in my stomach when I know that a choice I just made was the WISE one. I want to have the peace that accompanies Wisdom so that when I lay my head on my pillow, I can smile thinking about Wisdom thinking about me.

— Teresa Klassen

Afterword: On an opposite note, Donald Miller’s (author of “Blue Like Jazz” among others) Tweet today made me laugh: “OH: I do too have emotions. Indifference is an emotion.” Tying in to what I wrote today…can’t we so be indifferent to wisdom?

Off Topic: Gotta say, I kinda like how God made the choice to describe wisdom in the “3rd person feminine singular.” I am not a “feminist” by any means, but just the choice to make it so is a curious choice by God when, especially in “antiquity” (ha, Mike, chose that word for you — inside joke), in the culture, masculine would trump feminine every time. I am sure, linguistically, this can be logically explained away, but for now, I am just enjoying God’s choice of words.

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 05 2010
dennisfinocchiaro

You forgot one of the ways to know you are in love.
You suddenly want to paint a painting, write a story, take a photograph, just for them.

http://www.denwrites.com

20 05 2010
teresaklassen

So true, so true! I think of all the sappy letters and terrible poetry Mike (my husband) and I wrote back and forth…these before the days of email. Essentially my journal is a conversation between me and “Wisdom” — trying to know it, embrace it, show my gratitude in creative ways…

25 05 2010
sitkag

I was really interested in what you said about wanting to love your choices. I have made choices that seemed horrible for years and now I see them as the right one, ones that lead me on a better path. It took awhile though.
Maybe it’s good to love wisdom, love another’s wisdom, find love in the wisdom of other’s that came before you.
I don’t ever feel confident enough in my decisions to love them, but I have found love because of them.
Thank you for your post-

25 05 2010
teresaklassen

I am not sure it would be accurate to say I have loved my choices, I think what I have loved is when I know that I have allowed my choices to partner with Wisdom. I have made many completely stupid decisions and there is nothing that I am particularly thrilled about when I review those (still, I have learned something through those as well). I think what I love is knowing that “Wisdom” – at least the kind described the book of Proverbs, is personal and is a personality; it isn’t some elusive, fluctuating idea. Wisdom really does call out to us, it is just that – well I know for myself – I am often deaf to it (or stubborn, or prideful, or…). The Proverbs call us to love Wisdom because Wisdom loves us and longs for us to live lives that are good, in the truest sense.
Thanks for your comment!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

