Your Story. My Story. The True Story.

31 05 2010

The dilemma that inspired the saying, “There are always two sides to the story and then there is the truth,” bothers me.

It bothers me that it is so hard to land on what is true.  It bothers me that there is your perspective and then my perspective and we both could be slightly off. It bothers me that I could think I am right and could be wrong, but really think I am right; do you know what I mean?

It bothers me that truth sometimes stands off to the side while people wrestle in the middle.

When I read Proverbs 8 this morning I felt longing; something inside of me reaching out to “Wisdom” (God’s wisdom, personified in these verses) with a great sigh:

“Listen [this is God’s Wisdom speaking], for I have worthy things to say; I open my lips to speak what is right. My mouth speaks what is true, for my lips detest wickedness.”

Worthy Words. Words that are Right. Words that are true. Words that are not marked by any kind of wickedness. My soul aches for those words.

I am tired. I am tired of this world of trickery, doubt, dissent, and debate. I would so love to be a in a place where there was purity: purity in our thoughts, purity in our motives, purity in how we view one another, purity in the words we use, purity in being truthful.

I don’t just mean the blunt truth (like the kind in “The Invention of Lying”). Some people pride themselves in speaking honest words but end up just being mean. What I am talking about is honesty bathed in love and compassion; honesty that isn’t trying to win, rather honesty that is trying to win back.

This is the kind of honesty Jesus delivered. We have multiple motives hiding behind our “honesty”, most of them tinged by sin; but Jesus really only had one motive: restoration.  If just for this one thing, I am drawn in to Jesus.

Jesus said that we can look forward to the day when all things are made right and the “old order” of the way the world will pass away.  At the same time, He calls us to live it now; bring heaven to earth now. I can’t do that for anyone else; but I can decide how I will live and how I will speak. I can call out to “Wisdom” to fill my own mouth with words that are worthy, to say what is right and true, and to sift out my wicked tendencies.

I can keep calling myself back to the only motive that matters.

— Teresa Klassen

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

