Didn’t I Already Say That?

8 06 2010

Sometimes I end up saying the same thing over and over and over to people; the same piece of advice, the same word of encouragement, the same admonition. I know when we meet that I will probably hear the same thing from them and I will give the same response and, though part of me believes every time it will make a difference, part of me knows that (at least with some) it won’t.

What is it about their “rut”? The mythical power of their pattern has them in lock-down; I tell them that they can be free of it, but they don’t believe it. Sometimes they get all fired up about the “new day” I tell them is possible, but they go home and rehearse the old script.

There are exceptions. Sometimes I sit down with people and I can actually talk about the next step. The last time we met we talked about some things and I gave them some ideas; they took it seriously and actually applied what they heard. We meet again and I can add to that conversation. It is very much what Proverbs 9:9 says,

“Instruct a wise man and he will be wiser still; teach a righteous man and he will add to his learning.”

Being wise is the first and best decision you can make. Think about it: deciding to be wise is wise. Deciding to live righteously is a righteous decision; already you are headed in the right direction; I can help you from there.

It isn’t that I am looking for perfection (believe me, I am not); I just want to see people try. I give “A’s” for effort. I am 100% certain you will fail at a lot of things; I am 100% certain that if you listen to me, you will win more than you lose.

Just sayin’

God

Afterword: This is just how my reflection turned out today. Started with me thinking about how sometimes I say the same thing over and over to my kids; wondering if anything is sinking in. I figured that is how God must also, often, feel about his conversations with me — Teresa Klassen.

Actions

Information

One response

17 10 2013
Samantha Campbell

Wonderful post! We will be linking to this great content on our site.
Keep up the good writing.

Leave a Reply

