Oh The Drama!

10 07 2010

Cabin Fever
(as defined by Google):

“…a claustrophobic reaction that takes place when a person or group is isolated and/or shut in, in a small space, with nothing to do, for an extended period (as in a simple country vacation cottage during a long rain or snow).”

  • When do I get a free pass to be annoyed with someone?
  • What scenario gives me the right to vent my irritation?
  • How “big” does something have to be before it can legitimately become the plot of a drama?

Just askin’.

It just seems that it takes very little to start something; we’re awfully touchy, aren’t we? Push a couple of people together and you end up pushing buttons. There are just “things” about other people that aggravate us, hey? *Right about here, go down and read my p.s. if you like and engage in a little personal inventory before reading on…

I know we are supposed to see each person as incredibly valuable, but often, aren’t people just incredibly irritating? Even people we really, genuinely love spending time with can get on our nerves. Even with those we would take a bullet for, we can become impatient and angry and find at least a dozen things to pick at.

In the famous “love passage” there is a line that says “[love] is not easily angered” (1 Corinthians 13:5). Basically, most of us get an F on this because very few of us are not easily angered. I, for one, am not very demonstrative with my anger, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t there; that doesn’t mean I am not peeved and slightly less prone to being generous and kind as a result. My attitude, when I am bugged, is toxic and no good can come of it. This I would also like to further comment on, but I will save that for a few paragraphs.

Why am I so easily angered? Why is my list of expectations so inflexible? I know there are some things worth debating, but tell me, what percentage is really worth causing so much drama about?

What is worth going toe-to-toe with someone over? If something rubs us wrong, why can’t we just move on? Proverbs 12:16 says

16 A fool shows his annoyance at once,
but a prudent man overlooks an insult.

A wise person doesn’t even go there; a fool won’t let it go.

I think we have some capacity to zip the lip but to “overlook” means to actually fail to see or to pay no attention to at all.

What grates at you?  For almost everything that gets under your skin, could it not be resolved with two words: so what? What difference does it make if you feel a little dinged or disappointed or put-out or misunderstood or inconvenienced or crowded. Honestly the scenery of our lives change so fast, so what if some little thing is an irritant to you. So what? Let it go.

Don’t get me wrong, you can’t just shrug everything off, but isn’t there a whole whack of things you could? There is a big difference between fighting for something and fighting over something.

The image in my mind is that of a bomb that could go off – something’s in the mix that could raise the roof – but it requires a detonation wire, and that is what separates the wise person from the fool. Proverbs is saying that a wise and careful person is missing that wiring. The engagement, the explosion, never happens because, with God’s help, it is overlooked; it doesn’t even get lit.

Community.

We say we want to be together, but when we are together we sometimes totally miss the privilege of it. And this is what I want to go back to and conclude with. We are to be a light on a hill but how will we minister to others if we cannot minister to each other? How can we invite others in, if we can’t stand “being in” too long with one-another? There is a time to go off and pray and sort your own head out, but then return and show the world (and fulfill the prayer of Jesus) that we can be One, without cabin fever.

— Teresa Klassen

P.S. Hey kids, here’s a fun game (I say tongue-in-cheek, you must realize). Take some time and write down everything that irritates you about other people (I would encourage you not to use names and under no circumstances should this list appear on Facebook). Afterwords, look at your list and realize how pathetic it is. Spend some time confessing and allowing the Holy Spirit to give you a new heart and a new perspective. Then spend the rest of the week practicing “letting things go.” Let me know how this turns out for you. I have my own assignment.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

