Consider: The Rock From Which You Were Cut

10 08 2010

Part 8 of “Consider This”

Who am I?

Am I the product of my parents? His genes, her genes and there you have me?

Am I little of him and a little of her and a dash of my grandparents so that you could slice and dice me and say “this came from this side of the family” and “this came from that side.”  Is that who I am?

If I look to my future and all that I might be someday, do I look at the watermark left by my ancestors and hope to meet, or perhaps exceed it slightly? On the other hand, do I look at them and say, “This is all I will amount to?”

Am I my country, my city, my neighborhood, my house? Am I “that” person, “that” label, “that” and no more?

What about if life has left marks on me along the way, so that I can hardly even see whom I was if I wanted to? Maybe at one time there was potential but now, now there are all these dents, rust, pieces missing. Is this who I am?

How relevant, how irrelevant are all of those things? Will they be a leg-up for me or prove to continually ride and deride me? Will they shelter me or disable me?

Turn around and look, Isaiah 51:1 says: “Consider the rock from which you were cut, the quarry from which you were mined.”

“He is the Rock, his works are perfect, and all his ways are just.
A faithful God who does no wrong, upright and just is he.” (Deuteronomy 32:4)

How have we forgotten this? Do we think we came from some landfill? Some chemical cocktail? Some mistake? How are we able to look at our own picture and just see an imprint of something we are stuck with, and not more, so much more? Only because

You deserted the Rock, who fathered you;
you forgot the God who gave you birth. (Deuteronomy 32:18)

Remember: you have a number on your birth-certificate, a mother and a father, relatives and more relatives, but you are more than this collection. You may have been handed blessings by them, or you may have been handed curses; this matters, but it doesn’t matter nearly as much as knowing the Rock from which you were cut in the first place and with absolute hope and assurance, raising your hands to your Maker you can say (shout if you will!):

‘You are my Father, my God, the Rock my Savior.’ (Psalm 89:26)

On those days when you wonder who you are, consider the Rock from which you were cut and the quarry from which you were mined because this is who you are.

— Teresa Klassen

Actions

Information

One response

18 08 2010
Image Deficit « OneBrownLeaf

[…] The thing that should be outstanding about me is this kind of acceptance. God never placed the burden to judge others upon me.  He never asked me to fix everyone’s behavior. What He asked is that I would share the news about the freedom He offers, with love and respect for all. He asked me to hold up His Image to remind us who we were fashioned after. […]

Leave a Reply

