Around The Table

6 09 2010

Today it was a tight squeeze around the lunch table; half the people I knew well, half I knew hardly at all. Mike always asks: “What’s your story?”

I love hearing about people’s journeys as we sit around the table. I love how one person has the floor, sharing something about their “long and winding road” and everyone else listens in. A connection is formed as this person moves from being a stranger to being known; and not just on a “I know your name” basis, but “I know your story” which is completely different.

There are moments when I feel like I am both a participant and an observer. Part of me is sitting in the circle and part of me feels a tap on my shoulder and a whisper that asks, “Do you see it?”

I do. I saw it today as we moved towards one another, as we heard honest words, vulnerable and sometimes painful words; as credit was given to God for being a life-saver. Would any of us find each other, naturally? Children, adults, young adults, seniors, parents, singles; what do we have in common except this thirst to know Christ and to walk a narrow road in a big wide world? He threads us together, as diverse as we are, into a Body; and the invitation is always open. I saw that again today.

It is easy to lose sight of this, but around the table, in my heart today I heard that whisper again, “Do you see it?” Did I see how Jesus fishes people out of self-destruction; mending us and setting us upright?

You’re right Lord, She is lovely, this Bride, this idea of yours. It is lovely when strangers aren’t strangers because of what You have done. It is lovely when we can admit broken things, without shame because You redeem it all. All. You make it lovely; You put on our heads “a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.” (Isiaah 61:3)

— Teresa Klassen

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 09 2010
Colleen McKenzie

Always so thoughtful!! I so enjoy reading your blogs.

6 09 2010
mike

The great thing about people’s stories is that is draws the listeners in. Everyone has one but sadly rarely asked to share it.

Great post – thanks for capturing a picture of what the bride is to be

Mike

Leave a Reply

