Teenage Dream? Teenage Nightmare!

20 11 2010

There is a song on the radio right now that makes me FURIOUS. I am not talking annoyed; what I mean is, I can feel the blood pounding in my head and I see red when I listen to the lyrics of the deception.

  • Will people know the lie when they hear it?
  • What if it comes with chocolates and flowers?
  • What if it comes in a good looking package?
  • What it whispers your name and makes your heart beat?

Because that’s how often a lie comes. It doesn’t come all hairy and drooling and smelling of sulfur. It comes with insidious pleasantness; with an intoxicating allurement.

It convinces you it loves you:

“You think I’m pretty
Without any make-up on
You think I’m funny
When I tell the punch line wrong
I know you get me
So I’ll let my walls come down, down…”

The lie finds you when you are young and vulnerable:

“Before you met me
I was a wreck
But things were kinda heavy
You brought me to life
Now every February
You’ll be my valentine, valentine…”

And so you let the walls come down, down and you make a life-altering, soul crushing decision:

“Let’s go all the way tonight
No regrets, just love
We can dance until we die
You and I
We’ll be young forever…”

These five lines make me hyperventilate! Is this what you will think the answer is? Is this what you think you must do when you find pseudo-love? Go all the way?

There isn’t “just love” in throwing yourself into a sexual act. There is a boatload of pain and regret and you don’t dance until you die and you won’t be young forever. Honestly, look around; who is dancing forever? Who is young forever? It’s a lie.

One moment of pleasure and something is torn from you. You sell out a bit of your dignity, you give away yourself for nothing, nothing! It is not “real” and it is not worth “taking a chance.” The singer, the swindler, invites you in with what she says is a dream come true, but she is selling you a fantasy. She is putting something broken into your hands that you won’t be able to return.

She sings of love’s impostor but says it is your “missing puzzle piece.” She entices you with emptiness but says it will complete you. It won’t complete you. It might not destroy you but oh the uphill climb to regain your balance!

I hate this song. I hate that it is playing on the radio. How does anyone dare lure our young people towards such a cliff! Teenagers are searching for True North and instead, someone of influence runs a red herring across their path? If we want to be “outraged” about something, this is worth being outraged about.

These are truly shameful words; why would she write them? Why would she want to add to the confusion of a young person trying to find their way? Does misery need company so much that she would be motivated to lure them so?

We will have to give an account somewhere along the way; for by our words we will be acquitted and by our words we will be condemned.

— Teresa Klassen

* Responsibility must be given to Katy Perry for the lyrics of the song “Teenage Dream”

 

Actions

Information

One response

20 11 2010
Liza Tough

Teresa,
Well said! As a teenager things are so confusing and a song like this and shows on the TV that make this very life changing decision so casual. Also it gives the message it’s ok to have casual sex. Once you cross that bridge there is no going back.

I am not someone to cast stones at anyone as I have made my fair share of Mistakes and through those mistakes God has been with me even when I did not want him there. He gave me the best blessing through the birth of Ann and I would not change that for anything.

I want more for this generation. It is ok to wait until marriage to gift your spouse with such a special gift. God has created such a special act of love when it is shared between spouses.

So again thank you Teresa for bringing this forward. A lie encased in a catchy beat and played on the radio non stop is still a lie!

Leave a Reply

