Jesus Is Meeting Me Here.

16 09 2011

This is a blog of thankfulness to God, plain and simple, for how He has been meeting me in a season of pain. It isn’t any secret, but if you don’t know us personally, you would not have heard that we are going through a really trying period right now on a few levels, the most significant of which involves one of our kids who isn’t flying straight at the moment.

I won’t speak for my husband Mike, but I feel like I have time-traveled. Just a few weeks ago I was experiencing re-entry from a beautiful time of rest and renewal, so refreshed; I blinked and now, disoriented, I find myself hyperventilating up a winding and rocky footpath in uncharted territory.

But I began by saying that this is a blog of thankfulness to God, plain and simple, for how He has been meeting me in a season of pain, and indeed, He has. This is a declaration of praise for God who is so good that He has taken the time to be so personal with me, to speak to me in a way I can understand.

I am not even sure I can explain it, but for His sake, I will attempt to capture one little thing He has done.

I couldn’t tell you right now what I need. I need something in my soul and if you were to ask me what, I would say, “God only knows” and mean it. I come before God not knowing what I need to hear each day. I don’t know what He can do to help me see. I don’t know what I need to help me parent courageously. I don’t know what will strengthen me. I just come to Him with open hands and know that He knows.

And this is how He has decided to parent me right now: He has decided to give me a song each morning.

The songs are so random, some really old from the memories of my childhood; some are more recent. I don’t know how long He is going to start my day like this, but right now He has decided to do this. Sometimes I have no idea what the words are to the song so I look them up and I am met.

Today a song came to me and I didn’t even get it at first;  I looked it up and as I read the lyrics to this old, old hymn I said, “I don’t know what this is supposed to mean, but I trust there is a reason. I will write it out and see how You speak to me, Lord” and as I did, I saw it and He has flooded me with peace. It is all on theme for what He is saying to me day to day.

Today’s song was Blessed Assurance, a dusty piece published in 1873 by Fanny Crosby (I will post Third Day’s take on this song at the end of this post). This is what I heard today:

Verse 1

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine. Oh what a foretaste of glory divine. Heir of salvation, purchase of God, born of His Spirit, washed in His blood

 Teresa, you can have perfect confidence in one thing: I, Jesus, am yours. No matter what happens, no matter where life leads you, this is one thing that can never be taken from you. It is a sure thing, a constant in your life.  No matter what rages around you, I have given you a view to your ultimate future and it is perfect. I have given you an amazing gift, I have purchased you and you are Mine. You now operate on a different plane and so do I. So lift your eyes beyond what you see right now and you will see that My way is one of salvation. I Am the One who saves. God…blessed be your name!

Verse 2

Perfect submission, perfect delight, visions of rapture now burst on my sight. Angels descending, bring from above, echoes of mercy, whispers of love.

Teresa, let yourself go. Let your head rest in My hand. Look at what I am doing in the heavens. If you do this, you will experience the true meaning of the Sabbath: rest. Let Me show you what I see, I Am giving you a vision of what is really going on. Remember how you read about Angels in Psalm 103 the other day? Look now, Angels are descending and they are bringing from above echoes of My mercy, and whispers of My love. This is for you, this is for your child who I love more than you and I Am in pursuit of. My voice will not go unheard. God…blessed be your name!

Verse 3

Perfect submission, all is at rest, I and my Savior are happy and blest. Watching and waiting, looking above, filled with His goodness, lost in His love.

Submit, Teresa, submit. It is OK; this is not out of control.  You will find joy in Me even during this time and rich blessings along the way. Keep hope. Watch. Wait. I will give you strength. Keep your eyes on Me at all times and you will see that I am good through and through. When you lose yourself in Me, you will be found. God…blessed be your name!

Chorus

This is my story
This is my song
Praising my Savior all the day long
This is my story
This is my song
Praising my Savior all the day long.

This is my story, and there is no other. It is a story of living in the Spirit of praise no matter the current chapter. I am not reading ahead. I have no expectations except that I know He is with me and will give me what I need, daily.

I have been met today. I will be met tomorrow. This is a blog of thankfulness to God, plain and simple.

— Teresa Klassen, one that He loves.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 09 2011
Bev J.

Oh Teresa…I can feel your pain. So very sorry that you are having to deal with this challenge with one of your kids. I can empathize as life has been difficult especially with our two special needs kids. We have had to continually turn them over to the Lord. We weren’t perfect parents, but we did our best to nurture and teach them. They have not gone in the direction we had hoped, but we know that the Lord is still dealing with them. It is hard to let them fly out on their own and make huge errors in decision-making. As parents we are wired to protect them and even try to control them. It is hard to see self- destructive behavior which can have long-term consequences.

The Word of God, godly friends and family can be a real support. I love the comforting words of old hymns. I have had friends who have said that next to their Bible, a hymnbook is a must for their quiet times. Many times through the years, I have sat at the piano and sung the hymns during stressful moments. One such hymn is Wonderful Peace…”peace, peace, wonderful peace…coming down from the Father above….with fathomless billows of love.” I love many of the new worship songs, but I don’t think they can match the depth of the classics. Hopefully they will be kept alive for future generations. Recently as we were getting ready for my 90 yr old aunt’s funeral, I heard her daughter, my dear cousin singing “Jesus Is the Sweetest Name I Know” in the bedroom down the hall from ours. She didn’t know I was listening…or how much she was blessing me and giving me courage to face a difficult day. It was a special moment…one I’ll never forget.

Thanks for sharing from your heart. It is hard to rejoice and be thankful during tough times, but we are told in Scripture to “rejoice always”. That’s because it works! Cultivating an attitude of gratitude has seen us through many rough days in parenting and in the ministry.

Praying for you an Mike.

18 09 2011
Chantelle Funk

Thank you. Sometimes it’s hard to read your emails through the tears – good tears of the stirring of the Spirit.
Know that you have someone praying for you and your family every day.

Leave a Reply

