This Place

1 12 2011

What a difference it is in This Place, versus That Place. When I am in That Place I feel the freezing rain, winter’s cold fingers on my skin; but one step to the side and an umbrella keeps me completely dry. In This Place I can see the downpour, but I am sheltered.

What a difference it is in This Place, versus That Place. When I am in That Place I feel the sun, burning hot on my head; but one step to the side and the shade of a tree cools me; I don’t even need to cover my eyes anymore. In This Place I can see the withering heat, but I am sheltered.

What a difference it is in This Place, versus That Place. When I am in That Place, posts and tweets and a barrage of messages about everything from everyone assault me; but if I unplug, Spirit whispers to spirit. In This place I hear what is and what isn’t, and I find shelter.

Stay.

I am invited to “keep myself” in This Place; the sanctuary for all who hunger and thirst for true love and mercy but sometimes I step out and get lost. Bumped and jostled, I become anxious and mixed-up, not realizing no matter what direction I am facing, it only takes one step to get back to This Place.

What a difference it is in This Place, versus That Place. The one calls out for me, the other doesn’t care. In the one I am tended, in the other I am fair game.  In the one I am treasured, in the other I am nobody.

In That Place I am, daily, assaulted; but in This Place…I am pieced together again.

  • Teresa Klassen

(Jude 1:20-21)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

