There Will Be Lightening

5 12 2016
Mikaela's Suite in Vancouver

Mikaela’s Suite in Vancouver

Every day I have been thinking of how I can welcome our daughter Mikaela home. She lives 4 hours away in Vancouver and Christmas is coming which means she will hop on a bus and make her way here and I want her home-coming to be “merry and bright.” I have been working on little things she appreciates and planning some warm and welcoming surprises, because it delights me to delight her.

There is one thing missing though, I can’t flip the switch to an amazing light display. Over the years, the lighting of our house has dwindled off but if I could do it myself, you would be able to see our house from space…just for her. She loves Christmas lights because they are “so jolly.” As it is, I will show her our neighbour’s house down the hill, the one Mike says is a “show off” 🙂

I was reading Revelation 4 today and thought of this as I read about what John saw in the lavish throne room of heaven:

At once I was in the Spirit, and there before me was a throne in heaven with someone sitting on it. And the one who sat there had the appearance of jasper and ruby. A rainbow that shone like an emerald encircled the throne. Surrounding the throne were twenty-four other thrones, and seated on them were twenty-four elders. They were dressed in white and had crowns of gold on their heads. From the throne came flashes of lightning, rumblings and peals of thunder. In front of the throne, seven lamps were blazing. These are the seven spirits[a] of God. Also in front of the throne there was what looked like a sea of glass, clear as crystal.

In the center, around the throne, were four living creatures, and they were covered with eyes, in front and in back. The first living creature was like a lion, the second was like an ox, the third had a face like a man, the fourth was like a flying eagle.Each of the four living creatures had six wings and was covered with eyes all around, even under its wings. Day and night they never stop saying:

“‘Holy, holy, holy

is the Lord God Almighty,’

who was, and is, and is to come.”

Whenever the living creatures give glory, honor and thanks to him who sits on the throne and who lives for ever and ever, the twenty-four elders fall down before him who sits on the throne and worship him who lives for ever and ever…. (verses 2-9)

I wrote in the margin: “If you could, wouldn’t you?”

God is so extravagant, because He is. He can make a rainbow that shines like an emerald, he can have flashes of lightening and peals of thunder at will, a sea of glass clear as crystal if He so chooses and He does choose, and why wouldn’t He? Would it be better for God to be a minimalist in a white room with a plain wooden throne, hewn of repurposed wood? Or is it who God is to do what none of us can, to give us what none of us have ever had: the kind of wonder that will drop you to your knees without even thinking.

And this is where Revelation 4 led me. It seems to me, the response of the elders in this chapter is not mandated or robotic or even a conscious decision. I think, when one is in the Presence of something and Someone so inexplicable, you do what you have never done before without even thinking: you fall to your knees in repeated “awestruck wonder.”

And then I thought, “I LONG for that!” I long to be SO moved that it drops me because it is the only, only response possible. Right now, my heart deals with gravity: it can’t quite get there…it’s frustrating. Paul says all creation “groans” in this waiting time (Romans 8:19).

If heaven is like a pool of the most amazing perfume in the world, right now I am only getting a slight scent of it. If heaven is the definition of beauty, right now I catch just a glimpse of it. If heaven is a sound unlike anything I have heard, right now the notes are small and distant. Even so, these imperfect things often bring tears to my eyes because my heart knows, it KNOWS something is coming and this is just a bit of it.

My heart KNOWS instinctively it was set in place by a Creator who is creatively unrestrained, Someone who is so…EVERYTHING. My heart wants to worship, it strains to do so at the scent, at the sight, at the sound, within the realm of this earth that is not heaven. My whole body wrestles with the weight of this brokenness and layers of sin and doubt and pain and self-consciousness — even the joy of this life is ultimately unfulfilling with all of its “endings” — to fully experience worship with unrestrained thankfulness and joy.

There is a home-coming in the works. Our Good Father has been planning and preparing and…there will be lightening.

— Teresa Klassen

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

